IPL Cricket: Williamson plays captain's knock in Sunrisers win

Adjust Comment Print

SRH's bowlers put in another disciplined bowling performance to restrict another team for a below-par total (138), which their batsmen chased down with an over to spare despite another hiccup, not like the one they suffered against Mumbai Indians, though.

SRH skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to field. The bounce was tennis-balley, and the wickets of Rana and Russell were only thanks to two great catches. For the first time in this IPL 11, KKR went in with two India Under-19 players as Shubman Gill and Shivam Mavi made their debuts in the glamourous T20 league. Robin Uthappa (3) got out to Bhuvneshwar Kumar caught behind.

Manish Pandey took an excellent diving catch running towards the boundary to dismiss KKR dangerman Andre Russell (9), having earlier completed a fine grab at backward point to get rid of Nitish Rana (14) after the ball had initially popped out of his grasp.

Kumar (3/26) - back after recovering from a sore back - was ably supported by pacer Billy Stanlake (2/21) and Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan (2/21). Kolkata may boast of three quality spinners in Piyush Chawla, Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav, but Rashid Khan and Shakib Al Hasan are proving to be a winning combo for Hyderabad. After their opening victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore, they ended up on the losing side against Chennai Super Kings in a high-scoring contest. Chris Lynn looked good for his 34-ball 49 but was taken out by Shakib, and Karthik's 29 towards the end of the innings was the only other significant contribution with the bat.