Gmail is about to get a redesign and major update

Adjust Comment Print

Google is working on an overhaul of Gmail for web which will see a new interface along with several new features, including a Confidential Mode. The changes are expected to be effective in the coming weeks. Similarly, the actual security offered by this concept may also be limited, as the TechCrunch report notes that there is no control mechanism preventing the user from taking a screenshot of the message.

The update is also aiming to bring a new cleaner and less cluttered look for the Gmail along with other new features like smart reply which allows you to instantly select a reply to the mail from three possible options generated by Gmail from analyzing the context of the mail.

While Google is set to update the look of Gmail, few details of exactly what the tech giant has in store for its ever popular email service remains unclear.

So far, the only potential answer is a link with the message, "This message was sent with Gmail's confidential mode" the sent email reads.

The California-based company could also showcase updates to Google Chrome, Google Photos, Android Wear, Google Home, and more. "We need a bit more time to compose ourselves, so can't share anything yet - archive this for now, and we'll let you know when it's time to hit send", said a Google spokesperson who talked to TechCrunch. Shortly after the screenshots surfaced online, Google also confirmed that this redesign is in the works.

To create a confidential email, click compose and an icon on the bottom row of the new email you'll see a lock and clock icon click on that and edit how long you would like the email to last. For instance, the recipient would not be able to download the content, forward the email, print it, or copy-paste it. As per some screenshots, users will be able to set an expiration date so that the sent email disappears or is unreadable after a week or several years depending on what they choose. For an extra layer of security, senders could also require the email recipient to enter a passcode sent in a text message, to confirm their identity before being able to access the contents of the email. Not to mention if users OR senders are utilising POP3/IMAP/SMTP to access their inbox. "You can open it by clicking on this link".

Comments