BJP accuses Congress of coining 'Hindu terror' tag, demands apology

Adjust Comment Print

According to Congress General Secretary Mukul Wasnik, who released the list in the national capital, the candidates were selected by the party's Central Election Committee from the names its screening committee recommended after a two-day meeting in New Delhi on April 9-10.

Since Karnataka is one of the few major bastions remaining of the Congress party, extensive campaigning has been going on in the state by both the BJP and the ruling Congress.

In the dissolved Assembly, Siddaramaiah was representing Varuna in Mysuru. Siddaramaiah had made his debut in the Assembly in 1983 from Chamundeshwari on a Lok Dal ticket from where he had won five times and tasted defeat twice.

Efforts are also on to galvanise the Dalit community's support to Gandhi nationally, the party sources said. Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy will contest the polls from BTM Layout and his daughter Soumya R from the Jayanagara Assembly constituency (Bengaluru). There are 84 parliamentary seats reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. Mahadevappa, who wanted to contest from another seat, will now have to contest from T Narsipurelection: 15 women in Congress list. Youths were given preference.

Rebellion has erupted in many constituencies as sitting MLAs and strong aspirants vented their ire on being denied a ticket.

The present and former lawmakers of Congress - those holding offices in the zilla parishad, civic bodies, and the panchayat samitis - will take part in the launch event that is aimed at sensitising the attendees on the current state of affairs with regard to the community. Former BJP MLAs Nagendra and Anand Singh and former JD-S MLAs Zamir Ahmed Khan, Chelluvar Ayyasamy, Iqbal Ansari, Akhanda Srinivas Moorthi, Blakrishna, Bheema Nayak and Ramesh Bendi Siddhagowda were also given tickets. B Suresh Siddhaiah, B Manjugowda and A L Pushpa.