UP bypolls: BJP trails in Gorakhpur, Phulpur

Adjust Comment Print

Praveen Nishad is leading by 3700 votes. At the end of round 2, the SP took a lead of 1,500 votes, after which the SP kept on increasing its lead. Losing this seat would mean a huge loss for the BJP.

Yogi was seen campaigning aggressively for the Gorakhpur seat as it is a fight for pride on this seat.

The result for the Gorakhpur Bye-Elections 2018 will be declared today.

Samajwadi Party candidates were leading in Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh after initial rounds of counting for the parliamentary by-elections, officials said. A constituency won by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on five successive occasions, the saffron party not only has to win Gorakhpur but also retain, if not increase, Adityanath's 2014 victory margin of nearly 3.13 lakh votes.

Counting of votes for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypolls will be held on Wednesday amid tight security arrangements. The SP had fielded Pravin Nishad from Gorakhpur and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel from Phulpur.

The BJP, which has an overwhelming majority in the state Assembly, has nothing to lose in terms of number, but the polls can be a precursor to the general elections next year.

Demographics in this constituency favors the opposition combine due to the presence of almost 2.5 lakh voters belonging to the Muslim community. A low voter turnout of 47.45 per cent was recorded.

The bypolls were necessitated after Adityanath and his Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively, following their election to the state legislative council.

After casting his vote, a beaming Adityanath told reporters that the "BJP continues to get a groundswell of public support since they are witnessing development, peace and prosperity under its government". He also denied the influence of the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party alliance on the bypoll results.

However, by 12:50, the SP was leading by more than 13,000 votes after counting of seven rounds with about 122,000 votes. This is the first time in Gorakhpur when the Samajwadi party is leading. The Congress put up its own candidate.