Opposition petitions speaker against government's move to 'bulldoze' Finance Bill

Adjust Comment Print

Uproarious scenes were also witnessed in the Rajya Sabha too where protests by opposition, the TDP and AIADMK over issues like the PNB bank scam and special status for Andhra Pradesh continued for the seventh day, disrupting proceedings in the House.

As the bedlam continued, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan adjourned the proceedings for the day after the tabling of reports of various standing committees.

One of the protesting members in the well held a placard which read "Chotta Modi kahan gaya", referring to diamond merchant Nirav Modi, allegedly the key person behind the Rs 12,700 crore fraud at Punjab National Bank.

In the Rajya Sabha, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said the government has agreed for a discussion on the bank fraud case under rule 176, but the Trinamool Congress and other parties wanted the debate under a rule (rule 168/169) that entails voting.

Two TDP ministers had resigned last week from the National Democratic Alliance-led Centre as their demand for Special Category status to Andhra Pradesh was not met. If this is the way MPs are behaving, I will adjourn the House. "The party has asked all BJP MPs to be present in the Lower House on March 13, 14 and 15 so that important legislation could be passed", Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar told reporters here. They said this was the government's "unilateral move to bulldoze all the financial business without discussing them on the floor of the House".

After both the houses were adjourned early on the day, Congress hit back at BJP.

Opposition protests, over a range of diverse issues, spilled over into the second week of the resumed Budget session of the Lok Sabha.

He said they have been wanting to take up the issue through an adjournment motion since the Parliament began and despite giving daily notice and meeting the Speaker, the government has been rejecting it as it wants to keep it away from public eye. They will remain intact as per the Central government rules.