Bidhya Devi Bhandari elected as President of Nepal for a second term

Adjust Comment Print

An Electoral College comprising members of the federal parliament and provincial assemblies had cast their votes to elect the new president at the parliament. With the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal and other fringe parties support, Bhandari's overall vote bank accounted for up to 26,921 in her re-election. For the first time, she became the president on October 28, 2015, a month after the country promulgated the milestone new constitution.

Incumbent President Bidhya Devi Bhandari is standing in the fray for her second term challenged by Laxmi Rai from the Nepali Congress, but the mathematical calculation has shown the vote to swing for President Bhandari. Bhandari had been endorsed by the left-alliance.

The 56-year-old President won since her nomination was backed by the ruling Left of the CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Centre) alliance, the Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal, and other fringe parties alliance.

President Bhandari received 39,275 votes, while NC lawmaker Rai received 11,730 votes.

According to the Act for the Election of President and Deputy President, each vote of lawmaker in the Federal Parliament will have a weightage of 79 and those from Provincial Assemblies 48.

With 148 lawmakers in the Federal Parliament and 243 in Provincial Assemblies, the CPN-UML commands a total vote of 23,356.

Her first five years in office have been largely uncontroversial. She also did not endorse the names of the three persons nominated by the previous government as the National Assembly (NA) members.

Meanwhile, Sushila Karki served as the country's first female chief justice until her retirement in 2017, shocking her political backers when she took a tough stance on Nepal's endemic corruption.