Now it has been noticed, in the latest WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) that the measly seven minutes time for second thoughts has been extended significantly. According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp's "Block revoke request" feature will quietly add some protection to prevent misuse of the "Delete for Everyone" feature.
NEW DELHI:Facebook-owned WhatsApp recently introduced the Delete for Everyone feature which enables users to delete the messages they sent by mistake.
In a related development, WhatsApp, after Android, has begun testing extended deadline for "delete for everyone" for iOS version.
Now, we have learned that the company has increased its time limit to 4096 seconds, that is around 1 hour 8 minutes. On New Year's Eve, WhatsApp set a new record with 75 billion messages and that number eclipses any other day in its history with the previous record of 65 million on New Year's Eve 2016.
WhatsApp Messenger has updated its "Delete for Everyone" feature. The report further adds, "If WhatsApp finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke message request, it checks the data of the message saved in the database, performing an operation: if [current date] - [the date of the saved message] is less than 24 hours, WhatsApp can successfully delete the message". The time limit is 24 hours rather than 1 hour to account for phones which are offline when the Delete for All message is sent.
With this, iPhone and iPad (LTE) users will be able to delete unintended messages from group chats after more than an hour.
Hitting the Delete symbol and selecting Delete for Everyone will remove the message for good.