Steve Smith wins Border Medal for 2nd time

Adjust Comment Print

Former cricketer Michael Slater pulled off a classic save after a bit of an awkward moment at the Allan Border Medal awards night.

The skipper was the hot favourite to take the award following a year in which he played 24 worldwide games across limited overs and Test cricket and scored 1754 runs at 67.46 with seven centuries.

The highlight was his career-best 239 in the third Ashes Test last December in Perth, which Australia won on the way to their 4-0 series triumph.

Smith spoke to reporters in Melbourne on Tuesday fresh from a fortnight off and claiming his second Allan Border Medal.

Smith, who also claimed the honour in 2015, polled 246 votes, 84 more than vice-captain David Warner, who won the award the last two years.

Her unbeaten 213 was part of a year that saw her score 756 runs across all forms of the game to go with 20 wickets at an average of 32. Warner was awarded ODI Player of the Year for his terrific show in 2017, besting Smith by 6 votes to clinch the medal.

The relevant voting period lasted from the final Test match of the 2016-17 season to the last Ashes Test of the current season.

Opening batsman Aaron Finch picked up the T20 International Player of the Year prize, while George Bailey secured the Men's Domestic Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Award for her fine showing a year ago with the double century in the historic Day-Night Ashes Test being the highlight.

Apart from topping the Australian worldwide batting with 756 runs at 68.73, the fast-medium bowler was also third with the ball, snaring 20 wickets at 32.10.

Western Australia pace bowler Jhye Richardson took home the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year award, while Georgia Redmayne snapped up the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year award.