Vijay Rupani takes oath as Gujarat CM: Full list of ministers

Adjust Comment Print

Governor OP Kohli will administer the oath to Rupani and his ministers.

According to a study by the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) and Gujarat Election Watch, the self-sworn affidavits of 20 Ministers in Gujarat Assembly showed that their average assets were worth Rs 13.34 crore.

Vijay Rupani today took office as Gujarat chief minister for a second straight term, after a hard-won victory over the Congress, at a glittering ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and a galaxy of BJP leaders but boycotted by the Congress.

A team of BJP central observers led by Union finance minister Arun Jaitley had, last week, held discussions with the 99 newly elected party legislators in Gujarat and declared that Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel were the unanimous choice for the role of chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively. Rupani served as Chief Minister from August 7, 2016 till the 2017 elections, following Anandiben Patel's resignation as Chief Minister citing the age factor. Naranpura MLA Kaushik Patel, who is seen as close to BJP national president Amit Shah, has been sworn-in as Cabinet minister. Since 2012 he has been a cabinet Minister. Atleast 18 other ministers will also take oath to the Gujarat Cabinet. He was removed from the cabinet after the Rupani government was formed a year ago.

BJP ally Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar also attended along with his deputy Sushil Kumar Modi.

"With the party's prominent Dalit, tribal and OBC leaders losing, Rupani is facing a challenge to build a new leadership for these sections in his government", said a senior BJP leader.

In other reports, a labourer died and two got injured while setting up a stage at New Secretariat complex for Vijay Rupani's swearing-in ceremony. "I am confident that Gujarat will continue its forward march on road to development and prosperity under the able leadership of Rupani".